The Work­shop on Al­go­rithms for Learn­ing and Eco­nom­ics (WALE) brings to­gether re­searchers from academia and industrial research working in the design of algorithms for economics and machine learning. The topics include: mechanism design, auctions design, market design as well as econometrics and statistical inference in the presence of malicious or strategic behaviors. The discussion will involve both the design of novel algorithms as well as computational limitations. There is a tech­ni­cal pro­gram of in­tro­duc­tory talks given by pi­o­neers in dif­fer­ent ar­eas fol­lowed by talks by par­tic­i­pants of the work­shop. In ad­dition, there will be am­ple time for in­for­mal dis­cus­sion and col­lab­o­ra­tion.


WALE stands for Work­shop on Al­go­rithms for Learn­ing and Eco­nom­ics and is a suc­ces­sor to the GREAT work­shop or­ga­nized in past years (see GREAT11, GREAT14, GREAT17).

It will take place in the beau­ti­ful Rhodes which is one of the largest is­lands in Greece and is di­rectly ac­ces­si­ble by plane from many Eu­ro­pean air­ports.

The work­shop will last for 5 days with each day hav­ing a dif­fer­ent theme. The top­ics and daily sched­ule are listed be­low.

Sched­ule (July 21‐27, 2019)

Talk Slides


The venue for the work­shop is the Mediter­ranean Ho­tel. It has a con­fer­ence room, where the talks will take place. It is next to a beach and close to the medieval city of Rhodes.

Dinner and Tours of Rhodes

In addition to the research talks, the workshop includes a dinner event (Wednesday) as well as two tours of Rhodes (Tuesday and Thursday). The total cost for participating at those is 60 euros.


Alon Eden (Tel Aviv University) Amos Fiat (Tel Aviv University) Angelina Vidali (UOA) Anindya De (UPenn) Aravindan Vijayaraghavan (Northwestern) Aviad Rubinstein (Stanford) Balasubramanian Sivan (Google) Bernhard von Stengel (LSE) Chara Podimata (Harvard) Christos Tzamos (UW Madison) Costis Daskalakis (MIT) Dimitris Fotakis (Yahoo and NTUA) Eric Balkanski (Harvard) Evangelia Gergatsouli (UW Madison) Evdokia Nikolova (UT Austin) Gali Noti (Hebrew University) Gautam Kamath (Simons) Giorgos Christodoulou (Liverpool) Gregory Valiant (Stanford) Hu Fu (UBC) Inbal Talgram Cohen (Technion) Ioannis Caragiannis (UPatras) Ioannis Panageas (SUTD) Isidoros Giotis (UT Austin) Jason Hartline (Northwestern) Jon Schneider (Google) Katerina Sotiraki (MIT) Kevin Leyton Brown (UBC) Kira Goldner (U Washington) Lydia Zakynthinou (Northeastern) Manolis Pountourakis (UT Austin) Manolis Zampetakis (MIT) Markos Epitropou (UPenn) Matt Weinberg (Princeton) Maxim Sviridenko (Yahoo) Michal Feldman (Tel Aviv University) Mihalis Yannakakis (Columbia) Mingfei Zhao (McGill) Mohammad Mahdian (Google) Moshe Babaioff (Microsoft Research) Natalia Kotsani (NTUA) Nick Gravin (SUFE) Ophir Friedler (Tel Aviv University) Panagiotis Mertikopoulos (CNRS) Paul Spirakis (Liverpool) Rachel Cummings (Georgia Tech) Rahul Savani (Liverpool) Richard Cole (NYU) Rocco Servedio (Columbia) Ron Kupfer (Hebrew University) Ronitt Rubinfeld (MIT) Satyen Kale (Google) Simina Branzei (Purdue) Stratis Ioannidis (Northeastern) Stratis Skoulakis (NTUA) Taylor Lundy (UBC) Thanasis Lianeas (NTUA) Themis Gouleakis (USC) Tomer Ezra (Tel Aviv University) Vaggos Chatziafratis (Stanford) Vasilis Gkatzelis (Drexel) Vasilis Kontonis (UW Madison) Vasilis Syrganis (Microsoft Research) Vijay Vazirani (UC Irvine) Yang Cai (Yale University) Yixin Tao (NYU)


Christos Tzamos (UW Madison) and Manolis Zampetakis (MIT)